AAC at the 2017 Millburn Film Festival

Art Advisory Members – part of this year’s Film Fest Judging team – enjoyed the premiere of the 2017 Millburn Film Festival at Millburn High School on Friday, April 21.  Now in its 6th year, this year’s festival once again highlighted the top student films from the district.  Congratulations to all the filmmakers!

Art Advisory Committee members with Millburn Film Festival chairs: Lynn Farscht (Film Fest), Donna Davis, Laraine Barach, Judy Kramer, Orna Greenberg, Amy McGovern, Andrew Permison, Maren Less and Alyssa Russo (Film Fest)


Posted in All, Film Festivals, Millburn Film Festival | Tagged ,

AP Art Scholarship Winners Announced for 2017

The Millburn Short-Hills Art Advisory Committee is pleased to announce the 2017 Scholarship winners, chosen after examining the AP students portfolios.  Congratulations to all the winners!

Senior Scholarship Award:
Erica Einhorn
Kathleen Gao
Darice Lee
Qizhang Wu
Senior Honorable Mention:
Abby Ow

Junior Award of Merit:
Jonathan Karlin
Sindu Shanmugadas
Junior Honorable Mention:
Jennifer Guo
Jessica Li

Senior Art Advisory winners 2017 (left to right):
Darice Lee, Abby Ow, Kathleen Gao, Erica Einhorn, Qizhang (Victor) Wu

2017 Junior Scholarship Winners:
Award of Merit: Jonathan Karlin “Mirror Lake, “
Honorable Mention: Jessica Li “Stranger friend” and “Always Tea Time”
Honorable Mention: Jennifer Guo “Charcoal Glass”
Award of Merit: Sindu Shanmugadas “Girl on a Swing” and “Diwali”

Winning Artworks – please click to enlarge and for more information:


Posted in All, Scholarships | Tagged , , ,

Winners Announced for 6th Annual Millburn Film Fest

The Education Foundation is putting students in the spotlight again this year and will be showcasing 9 winning films at the 6th Annual Millburn Film Fest  thanks to Academy Award Sponsors The Stephanie Mallios Team and New York Film Academy, and Executive Sponsors The Gonnella Team and Investors Bank, and other sponsors Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage, PNC Bank, & Bow-Tie Cinema.

The community is invited to view short family friendly films Millburn Middle & High school students have created, walk the red carpet, take home a complementary photo, and exit the event to a fanfare.

The Art Advisory Committee is proud to have been part of the judging process again this year, and is looking forward to another fantastic screening of talented young filmmakers’ works later this month.  See you at the movies!

FRIDAY, APRIL 21st @ 7:30PM (red carpet opens at 7:00)
Tickets are available online at www.millburnfilmfest.com

The winning films of 2017

“Eclipse” by David Chun & Jonny Berkowitz

“Flash” & “Soulfege-The A Capella Experience” by Kyle Farscht

“Heba’s Story” by Ariel Riseman

“Lyric” by Alex DeRosa

“Poppy” by Aaron Surloff

“Sincerely, A Feminist” by Julia Newman

“The Fountain Case” by Brendan Weissman & Ben Goodman

“Walk – The Story of the Iron Grannies” by Rachel Solomon

SNEAK PEAK https://youtu.be/XsDQnnfn9yc


Posted in All, Film Festivals, Millburn Film Festival

2017 Scholarship Judging this week

Judging this year’s portfolios, L to R: Seated – Donna Davis, Andrew Permison, and Orna Greenberg. Standing – Kathleen Harte-Gilsenan (AP Art Instructor MHS), Laraine Barach (committee chair), Judy Kramer, and Amy McGovern. (not pictured and photo credit: Maren Less)

In a year where Spring seems a long time coming, the Art Advisory Committee met Monday at Millburn High School for one of the high points of the season: judging the Advanced Placement students’ portfolios.  This annual event in Kathleen Harte-Gilsenan’s studio classroom is the opportunity to evaluate the pieces the Junior and Senior students have ccreated throughout their high school art career.

This year’s winners will be announced soon, and honored with scholarships and a gala evening in May.



Posted in All, Scholarships

David Koh: Guest Contributor to May Mentor Exhibition

We are pleased to announce the addition of exclusive photos by David Koh as a guest contributor in our upcoming May Mentors show at the Millburn Library, 200 Glen Avenue, Millburn.

Mr Koh is an award winning internationally recognized filmmaker and past winner of the AAC scholarship.

"Koharpa" by David Koh

“Harpa” by David Koh


Posted in All

AAC member Oscar Peterson exhibiting at The Center for Contemporary Art

The Center for Contemporary Art in Bedminster, NJ is hosting “Unbound” by Art Advisory Committee member Oscar Peterson. The show was curated by celebrated artist Mel Leipzig, and features 10 major works in oil, displayed in superb surroundings.

Judy Kramer, founding member of AAC, Laraine Barach, chairwoman, and new AAC member Maren Less attended the opening reception to congratulate Oscar and view the work Friday January 13.


Judy Kramer, Oscar Peterson, Laraine Barach and Maren Less at the “Unbound” opening

Oscar Peterson: Unbound
January 13 – February 25
The Center for Contemporary Art,
2020 Burnt Mills Road, Bedminster, NJ 07921

Posted in All

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

As 2016 rolls to an end, the Art Advisory committee is grateful to have had the opportunity to publicly honor some people important to us this month.

Peter Blanchard of Greenwood Gardens and Laraine Barach of the Art Advisory Committee

The Blanchards
of Greenwood Gardens

On December 6th at Millburn Town Hall, the Community Service award was given to Peter and Sofia Blanchard of Greenwood Gardens, as their colleagues from Art Advisory cheered them on. Our successful partnership with Greenwood Gardens gives assistance to many outdoor art projects on their grounds.




Art Advisory Committee member Elaine Becker (r) is honored at the Township Appreciation dinner. Fellow committee member Amy McGovern delivered remarks about Elaine's 18 years of service.

Art Advisory Committee member Elaine Becker (r) is honored at the Township Appreciation dinner. Fellow committee member Amy McGovern delivered remarks about Elaine’s 18 years of service.

Elaine Becker

During the December 13th annual township volunteer appreciation dinner, we recognized longstanding member Elaine Becker, who stepped down after 18 years of service.

As well as making contributions of time and suggestions on exhibits, we have our beautiful Town Seal in good measure through her efforts. The Art Advisory Committee restored rare Harvey Reed nature photos after Elaine brought them to our attention. She has donated time to our Appraisal fundraisers, and artwork to the permanent collection.

Donna Davis, Amy McGovern, Judy Kramer, Andrew Permison and Kathi Hecht at the Township Volunteer Appreciation dinner.

Donna Davis, Amy McGovern, Judy Kramer, Andrew Permison and Kathi Hecht at the Township Volunteer Appreciation dinner.


Elaine Becker’s contributions to the committee have been immeasurable, and we offer her our deepest thanks for her time and energy.

Please see the gallery below for photos of Elaine at Art Advisory Committee Events over the years. Click on any photo to enlarge and start a slideshow.

Posted in All, Greenwood Gardens, Receptions