“Leaving An Impression” wows audience at New Jersey Film Festival

February 1, 2019. Rutgers New Brunswick: New Jersey Film Festival.

Friday evening treated viewers to a great reception and screening at the New Jersey Film Festival for the documentary “Leaving An Impression”,  a Millburn/Short Hills Production. It was produced by Laraine Brennan Barach and directed by David Koh and Emma Quong. Following the screening was a Q&A session with Laraine and David.

The film was recognized for excellence in directing, content, editing, and educational experience.   

Producer Laraine Barach and Director David Koh at the New Jersey Film Festival Screening

Al Nigrin, Executive Director of the New Jersey Film Festival, with Laraine Barach.

Following the story of the restoration of an Edward Dufner painting, the film weaves together art restoration, Millburn-Short Hills History and the dedication to return the painting to its glory. It will screen again in Millburn in May.

Posted in All, Edward Dufner Paintings, Film Festivals, Leaving An Impression Documentary, Receptions | Tagged , , , , , , ,

Coming up on Friday, February 1, 7pm: “Leaving An Impression,” our Edward Dufner documentary, will screen in the New Jersey Film Festival at Rutgers Voorhees Hall. Following the screening, producer Laraine Barach (AAC Chair) and co-director (and former AAC scholarship winner) David Koh will host a Q&A about the project. Please join us!  Tickets are available at the NJ Film Fest link below, or contact larainebrennan@aol.com for more information.

Leaving an Impression: A Portrait of Edward Dufner – David Koh and Emma Quong (Millburn, New Jersey)
100 years ago, the American Impressionist Edward Dufner created two large paintings depicting night and day. He generously gifted these paintings in 1957 to Millburn Township, New Jersey.  This documentary follows the restoration process that brought these two beautiful paintings back to life.  Celebrating the work of the art restorers, and the volunteers who helped along the way, the filmmakers track the techniques that reversed the damage brought on a by century of neglect, with clarity, passion and humor. 2018; 43 min. Q+A Session with Co-Director David Koh and Producer Laraine Brennan Barach! Co-sponsored by the Rutgers University American Studies Department and the Zimmerli Art Museum! 


Emma Quong Laraine Barach David Koh

Emma Quong, Laraine Barach and David Koh


A still from the film: restoring “In the Summertime” by Edward Dufner

Posted in All, Edward Dufner Paintings, Film Festivals | Tagged , , , , , , ,

“Leaving An Impression” selected by The New Jersey Film Festival

We are very excited to be included this year in the New Jersey Film Festival. “Leaving An Impression,” our Edward Dufner feature documentary will screen at Rutgers Voorhees Hall February 1st 7:00 PM. For one year Emma Quong and David Koh filmed and edited this film, conceived and produced by Laraine Brennan Barach.

See more about the festival here: http://www.njfilmfest.com/ 


Emma Quong, Laraine Barach and David Koh


Posted in All

Festive opening for Landmarks 2018

Approximately 60 art lovers attended the Art Advisory Committee’s Landmarks 20th Anniversary show on Saturday October 13 at the Millburn Free Public Library.

Held in the Library Gallery, many of the artists were on hand for the occasion.  The afternoon event also featured light refreshments.

The show remains up until October 30 in the Millburn Library Gallery, 200 Glen Avenue, Millburn during library hours.

photos by Steven Barach

Laraine Barach and MHS Art teacher Kathleen Harte

Landmarks Opening: Art Advisory Members and Artists

Cathy Scorcese and Laraine Barach

Victoria Plummer and Laraine Barach

Posted in All, Millburn Landmarks, Receptions | Tagged , , , , , ,

Millburn Art Advisory Announces 20th Anniversary Landmarks Art Show

This year’s annual show presents a global view of the world through the eyes of gifted Millburn artists.

Included in the exhibit are:

  • Sculpture from Lenny Shapiro,who created the “Rotare” sculpture outside the library on its plaza
  • Donated paintings from world-recognized artist John Less, former executive with the Macy/Bambergers corporation.  John Less lived and painted for 50 years in Millburn
  • Two magnificent oil canvases of scenes of Millburn and Short Hills created just for the show by art Instructor Oscar Peterson, a Millburn resident. Oscar was recently the MSH Art Advisory “Artist in Residence”
  • Glass art by Amy Mc Govern and Kathi Hecht .
  • Ceramics by Donna Davis
  • Monoprint by Victoria Plummer
  • “Short Hills Cottage”, a painting donated five years ago by Robert Beers, who passed away suddenly this month
  • A large detailed painting from the township art collection of the early days of mills in Millburn
  • other works by Millburn artists or featuring Millburn topics

Starting in 1947, each decade of Millburn history is represented by unique as well as classic artwork in this show.

The exhibition is on view now through October 30 in the Millburn Library Gallery, 200 Glen Avenue, Millburn during library hours.


Posted in All, Millburn Landmarks

Edward Dufner Painting Restoration Documentary premieres at Millburn Library

Friday June 22:  A documentary highlighting the restoration of Millburn Township’s two Edward Dufner paintings made its premiere at the Millburn Free Public Library this evening.

When the library needed to make repairs to the wall the paintings had been hanging on, Library Director Michael Banick saw the opportunity to give these paintings the cleaning and restoration they needed.  By reaching out to Laraine Barach of the Art Advisory Committee, the 10 month process to see the paintings safely cleaned, restored, reframed and re-hung was begun.

Seeing this was an intriguing subject for a documentary, Laraine enlisted filmmakers David Koh and Emma Quong to film and edit the process.

The film follows the paintings from the library to Nicholas Rizzo Fine Arts in Chatham to Chelsea Restoration Associates in New York City and back again.  Along the way the talents and expertise of Nicholas Rizzo, John Powell and Amy Sokoloff illuminate the time consuming and and lengthy process of restoring such large scale paintings.

The paintings “Mother and Child in a Meadow” and “Around the Campfire” are now hanging on the freshly repaired and repainted wall in Millburn Library, on display for all to enjoy.

Future screenings of the film are to be announced.

Laraine Barach and Michael Banick

Michael Banick acknowledging the hard work of all involved in the restoration and film

Event program

Paintings on display in library


John Powell, Amy Sokoloff and Michael Banick

Laraine thanking Brenda and Nicholas Rizzo

Emma Quong, Laraine Barach and David Koh

Brenda and Nicholas Rizzo with Emma Quong

Laraine Barach and Harold Lefkowitz

Filmmakers Emma Quong and David Koh

Posted in All, Edward Dufner Paintings, Permanent Collection | Tagged , , , , , , , ,


Millburn Township Restoration of two iconic Edward Dufner paintings is now completed. The large paintings are prime examples of the American Impressionist style .
“Mother and Children in a Meadow” circa 1918

Edward Dufner Paintings Restored

Posted in All